Program Overview
14093
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-14093,bridge-core-2.2.5,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-21.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.2.0,vc_responsive,elementor-default
 

Program Overview

The Design Educator Typography Intensive offers educators access to some of the most talented typography instructors currently teaching, who will share their methodologies and pedagogies in an intimate environment at one of the most prestigious design schools; honoring HMCT’s mission to elevate and advance the teaching and understanding of both letterform design and typographic practice.

All modules, moderated by Gloria Kondrup, will feature best practices for in-person and online teaching, as well as accommodation for Q&A. Join us for each session as we give away some typographic swag for the most-engaged attendees. 

Friday July 17

  • Module 1
    10:00 AM – 11:45 AM PT (1:00 PM – 2:45 PM ET)
    Design and Typography Archives
    Steven Heller, Saki Mafundikwa, Louise Sandhaus, and Jennifer Whitlock
  • 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM (3:00 PM – 4:00 PM ET)
    Active Discussion Group with Steven Heller, Saki Mafundikwa, Louise Sandhaus, and Jennifer Whitlock
  • Module 2
    3:00 PM– 4:45 PM (6:00 PM – 7:45 PM ET)
    Teaching Essential Typography
    Ty Drake and Simon Johnston
  • 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM (8:00 PM – 9:00 PM ET)
    Active Discussion Group with Ty Drake and Simon Johnston

Saturday July 18

  • Module 3
    10:00 AM – 11:45 AM PT (1:00 PM – 2:45 PM ET)
    Teaching and the Use of Variable Fonts
    Jason Pamental and Greg Lindy
  • 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM PT (3:00 PM – 4:00 PM ET)
    Active Discussion Group with Jason Pamental and Greg Lindy
  • Module 4
    3:00 PM– 4:45 PM PT (6:00 PM – 7:45 PM ET)
    Teaching Transmedia Typography
    Brad Bartlett and Roy Tatum
  • 5:00 PM – 6:00 PM PT (8:00 PM – 9:00 PM ET)
    Active Discussion Group with Brad Bartlett and Roy Tatum